because it’s not my tragedy

Today I’m back at On Pop Theology with the only thing I could possibly write this week. It was strange, having something planned and then watching its meaning change so radically in light of events.

I am suspicious of people who know what to think.They knew the answers long before we asked the questions – Why? How?– or else they aren’t thinking at all, at least not about anyone but themselves.

Even now, I wonder what I could possibly add to this conversation; especially since this post won’t go out until a few days after Boston, and you will wonder why OPT is harping on about this while everyone else has moved on.

Like everyone else I’ve talked to, I struggled at first, trying to feel sad, and then realized I can’t; I am only a little shocked, and afraid, and ashamed that I don’t pray more often for those who live their lives shocked and afraid every day in other regions of the world. And I’m angry. That’s the thing about terrorism, isn’t it? Disease and tragedy and disaster happen to people all the time, and someone chooses to add to the chaos. Now suddenly people can’t run a foot race on a minor holiday?

Yesterday also marked one month since the death of an 18-year-old whose family I am close to.

I know what I feel, but I don’t know what to think.

Predictably, now that I’m at a loss, the only thing springing up to fill the void is the post I was already intending to write.

the rest, here.

P.S. I’m working on a project. You can see it when it’s done.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

