the everyday, or, an announcement

I’ve concluded that I’m not much of a blogger.

I’m a writer, and I write on a blog. But I’m really not cut out for the “blogging community”. I don’t have a posting schedule. I don’t have the stomach for the endless hair-splitting, and side-taking. And I feel icky doing the kind of relentless self-promotion and hot-topic-mongering that seem to garner views and followers. Even when great opportunities fall in my lap, I’m pretty bad at following up.

This is really, I promise, not to disparage blogging or bloggers. I read a lot of blogs, and I really do admire those who have put lots of work into gaining an audience and producing quality stuff. I just don’t have the passion to do that much work myself.

I like real life. I like my real life friends. I feel awkward on twitter. I don’t have a manifesto.

I’M NOT LEAVING THOUGH. You couldn’t make me. Really… it’s a love/hate/love/love relationship.

What I am doing is adding something new…

go look at it!

 

Yes! It’s a food blog! Because there is a dearth of recipes on the internet!

Not two weeks ago I asked Nate why he thought anyone would start a food blog, as if there aren’t enough people making comments about their recipes for everyone.

The next day, I realized that my yogurt-and-berry parfait was a thing of overwhelming beauty and the world lost something important the hour I ate it without photographing it at dramatic angles.

But really, it’s just for me. Because this is going to be fun. Because my thoughts on being poor and trying to eat never seem to fit here. Because it’s a place to celebrate the everyday even when every day there’s only $4 worth of food. It is more than enough, even as I try to work out all the complexity of food and poverty and governments, sin and beauty and contentment.

Want to check it out?

(there’s apple-blueberry french to-oast…..)

apple-blueberry french toast, or, how to get on food stamps

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Morgan Guyton

     /  April 19, 2013

    I’m not much of a foodie. I’m a theology geek who wishes I could still live in intentional community. So please keep writing about your spiritual journey too. It’s been a blessing to me.

    Reply
  2. Rusty

     /  April 19, 2013

    Yes, you are a writer. I have known that all along. I will miss your introspective pieces. You are not afraid to write honestly, and that is how someone writes well. Keep writing from your heart. Don’t worry about deadlines or regular schedules. I enjoy reading what you write whenever it becomes available. You have talent, and I want you to develop it.

    Reply
  3. Dave

     /  April 21, 2013

    Excellent! We can all relate to food. And your creativity to find good food on a budget will be great to follow. Did you know brisket was generally considered the worst cut of beef and thrown away as scrap until someone figured out how to make it scrumptious by slow smoking it and creating bbq? The rest is history.

    Reply
  4. I like your non-blogging writing. I like food, and I also like your spiritual thoughts. Write about all of it! However you like, wherever and whenever you like. I’ll tune in 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

